Spartathlon 2023 Race Report

Apologies for the delay in trying to get this report out. I’d planned to elaborate on why I think my anticipated performance was undone but suffice to say there are lessons to learn regarding my over zealous use of strength training and the proximity of that training to race day.

I believe my heavy focus on plyometrics was perfect to include within my strength program but the volume was too great, the intensity to high and it wasn’t ceased soon enough before race day.

——–

I admit to feeling almost a crisis of confidence after this years Spartathlon. A race which very nearly spat me out and reminded how punishingly difficult it can be.

I’m delighted to have finished and kept my consecutive streak alive of course but frustrated that despite very good prep my anticipated performance was scuppered by my own poor judgement.

Not ceasing intensive strength training early enough before the race resulted in a huge backfire as my body didn’t thank me for it developing a hip issue before marathon point, a calf tear later and a burst cyst behind my knee somewhere midrace.

I was worried it might be a DVT but thankfully disproven at DVT Clinic.

Consequently the final third of this years adventure was a combination of damage limitation, pain management and constant pace calculations. I never once doubted my self belief but I admit to some momentary concerns. So long as it was mathematically possible to finish though I would never ever concede.

Well… ‘This is Sparta’, no surrender, no retreat! This run commemorates the deed that was intrinsically linked to the mother of all battles and ultimately the birth of democracy.

So, there was no room for self pity or weakness, no room for whinging, no room for self doubt, just get it done! Pheidippides I am not but imagining his obligation to the Athenian Generals and his nation gave me added focus.

I was also fighting to save my consecutive streak of course and to do the race, Greek history, my crew and the ISA justice. Honour is a huge aspect of this race but so is approaching it with humility and respect.

I was determined to make the most of an opportunity afforded me by the lSA so failure was not an option and never has been for me in this race. I couldn’t live with myself if I didn’t reach the king.

No two years are ever the same and so it proved again for me. At the time of writing these words I was recovering from a virus, calf tear and burst cyst but I’m also thanking my lucky stars for a finish that quite frankly blew me away!

I didn’t feel I deserved the reception I got when I arrived in Sparta but the special people of Sparta, the waiting Brits and international friends thought otherwise.

Some embraced me as I approached Leonidas, others showed me a reverence, the like of which I have never experienced before or obviously expected, triggering emotions in me I wasn’t prepared for. I can’t tell you how grateful and overwhelmed I was to receive such a reception.

As I was freed to run the final stretch I was joined by Gill and Jamie, my trusted crew who’d been brilliant throughout. I’d earlier shared the descent into Sparta with Chris Larmour who was back for redemption and delivered. Hard earned and very well done to Chris!

I hope to elaborate on how I prepared for this years race and add further content to this years overdue report as my recollections return so apologies it isn’t a comprehensive account as yet. Suffice to say I doubt I can move on until I have.

I obviously hope to return again next year but admit to having my confidence rocked by this years experience which isn’t a bad thing. It focuses the mind.

This isn’t regarded as one of the toughest races in the world for nothing and it did a very good job of reminding me of that this year. Now it’s time to rebuild in every way!

Thanks to everyone for the amazing support and to the International Spartathlon Association for staging this epic every year!

A quote I’ve used in previous reports has never been more apt than on the occasion of this years race…

…”If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew

To serve your turn long after they are gone,

and so hold on when there is nothing in you

except the Will which says to them: “Hold on” “

             Rudyard Kipling

                                                

About ultraian

Spartathlon Veteran. Badwater finisher 2023. Currently GB V60 All Time Best Performances 6hr, 50 mile, 12hr, 100 mile
This entry was posted in Race Reports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.